Five moments that won the title for Chelsea

LONDON, May 10, 2010 (AFP) - Chelsea were crowned Premier League champions on Sunday. Here are five moments that played a significant part in the Blues' first title since 2006:

November 8, 2009

Chelsea 1 Man Utd 0 - John Terry helped his side open up a five-point lead at the top as the defender's 76th minute header from Frank Lampard's free-kick clinched a hard-fought win in boss Carlo Ancelotti's first league clash with Sir Alex Ferguson's men.

November 29, 2009

Arsenal 0 Chelsea 3 - Carlo Ancelotti's team delivered a substantial blow to their London rivals' title challenge with an imperious display. Didier Drogba opened the scoring from Ashley Cole's cross before Arsenal defender Thomas Vermaelen turned another Cole cross into his own net moments later. Drogba continued his fine record against Arsenal with a late free-kick to move Chelsea 11 points clear of the Gunners.

March 27, 2010

Chelsea 7 Aston Villa 1 - Frank Lampard scored four times as the leaders demolished Villa to erase the painful memories of their recent Champions League exit against Jose Mourinho's Inter Milan. Lampard's quadruple, a double from Florent Malouda and a Salomon Kalou strike ensured Chelsea stayed just one point behind Manchester United.

April 3, 2010

Man Utd 1 Chelsea 2 - The Blues seized control of the title race as goals from Joe Cole and Didier Drogba stunned Old Trafford. Cole struck with a clever back-flick in the 20th minute and Drogba came off the bench to net in the 79th minute despite United appeals for offside. Federico Macheda's late goal wasn't enough to stop Chelsea going above United, two points clear at the top.

May 2, 2010

Liverpool 0 Chelsea 2 - Steven Gerrard's careless back-pass allowed Didier Drogba to open the scoring at Anfield and put Chelsea on course for victory in the toughest fixture of their run-in. Frank Lampard stabbed in the second to put the Blues within touching distance of the title.

Chelsea's Italian manager Carlo Ancelotti celebrates after Chelsea win the title with a 8-0 victory over Wigan Athletic in the English Premier League football match at Stamford Bridge on May 9, 2010. AFP PHOTO

Other news