Thousands of households resettled in Mekong Delta

Authorities in Can Tho City and seven provinces of the Mekong Delta have resettled around 154,400 households from flooded and landslide areas to new resettlement areas.

The seven provinces are Tien Giang, Long An, An Giang, Vinh Long, Dong Thap, Kien Giang and Hau Giang.

An Giang and Dong Thap Provinces have both evacuated 100 percent of all households to safer areas.

Vuong Binh Thanh, Chairman of the People’s Committee in An Giang Province said that evacuation of about 30,000 households to new residential areas has been completed.

Local authorities are still in the process of building more houses to accommodate 52,000 households at a total cost of VND2.39 trillion (US$114 million).

By B.Đai – Translated by Hai Mien

Other news