Gov’t approves nine day Tet holiday

The Government on Monday agreed a nine day lunar New Year holiday and four day solar New Year holiday at a regular cabinet meeting.

All officials and civil servants will have to work on Saturday (February 14), and then get a nine consecutive days off beginning Monday (February 15) until February 23, or the 27th day in the 12th lunar month until the fifth day in the first lunar month.

Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung instructed Government agencies to seriously work on Saturday.

At the meeting, the Government passed the proposal of the Ministry of Labor, Invalids and Social Affairs on solar New Year holidays. People will work on Saturday--December 27 and be off on Friday--January 2, taking the total holidays to four from January 1 to 4.

Besides, the Government also decided a six day holiday for Hung King Anniversary, Reunification Day and May Day in 2015. People will work on Saturday (April 25) and be absent on April 29.  The six day holiday will begin from April 28 to May 3.

Those organizations and businesses who still work on Saturday will arrange their own holiday schedules, suitable with the labor law.

By Phan Thao – Translated by Hai Mien

Other news