Korean President affirms role of cooperation with ASEAN

President of the Republic of Korea (RoK) Moon Jae-in has reiterated his resolve to enhance relations between the RoK and Southeast Asian nations.

President of the Republic of Korea (RoK) Moon Jae-in (Source: asianews.network)

President of the Republic of Korea (RoK) Moon Jae-in (Source: asianews.network)

In an article written ahead of his trip to Brunei, Cambodia and Malaysia next week, Moon said the RoK and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) member countries will further expand cooperation in many areas, including advanced science and technology, information and communication technology, transport, energy and defence industry. 

The move aims to usher in a more prosperous and peaceful future, he said in the article, which was published on the Asia News Network on March 6. 

“Our cooperation will also make constructive contributions to strengthening connectivity in the region, a goal pursued by ASEAN,” he wrote. 

The President also talked about the New Southern Policy, one of the important foreign policy initiatives launched with the aim of expanding diplomatic and economic cooperation between the RoK and its neighbouring Asian nations. 

Moon said he believed that relations between the RoK and ASEAN will continue to be strengthened, and the two sides will mark the 30th anniversary of the establishment of dialogue relations this year. 

The Korean leader said he was confident that when the ASEAN and the RoK join forces, the two sides will be able to enjoy unprecedented happiness, prosperity and peace that they have never experienced before. 

Moon is scheduled to leave the RoK for visits to Brunei, Cambodia and Malaysia on March 10. The visits take place in the context that the RoK is seeking ways to raise its trade with ASEAN countries from a record US$160 billion in 2018 to $200 billion in 2020. 

Last year, the number of visitors traveling between ASEAN countries and the RoK surpassed 10 million.

The ASEAN groups ten members, namely Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

Other news