25 provinces in Vietnam affected by blue ear

Two more provinces have been struck by the Porcine Reproductive and Respiratory Syndrome Virus (PRRSV) – also called “Blue Ear”, said the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, bring the number of affected provinces in the country to 25.

Two latest provinces, the Mekong delta province of Kien Giang and the highlands province of Kon Tum, have reported diseased pigs. Vets discovered 201 infected animals in Kien Giang and destroyed 77 while Kon Tum’s Department of Animal Health killed over 80 pigs of a household Truong Van Vuong in the city Kon Tum. 

Medical workers also disinfected the affected areas and banned the transportation in and out the region.

Vietnam has 25 provinces to have blue ear including the southern, highlands and central provinces.

By staff writers - Translated by Thu Nha

Other news